Where was the coldest temperature in the united states?

The coldest temperature ever reported in the U.S. was in Alaska – 80 degrees below zero on Jan. 23, 1971 in Prospect Creek, the Weather Channel reported. The coldest temperature recorded in the contiguous U.S. is 70 degrees below zero, measured at Rogers Pass, Montana, on Jan. 20, 1954.