What's the meaning of eskimo?

Eskimo, is a term use for the indigenous circumpolar people, who have traditionally inhabited the northern circumpolar region from eastern Siberia (Russia) to Alaska (United States), Northern Canada, Nunavik, Nunatsiavut, and Greenland.