Who holds the record for the longest time in space?

Cosmonaut Gennady Padalka holds the world record for the most cumulative time in space at 878 days over the course of five missions. Russian cosmonaut Valery Polyakov spent nearly 438 consecutive days aboard the Mir space station, from January 1994 to March 1995.