How fast is a red tail hawk?

A red tailed hawk can only achieve conventional flying speeds of about 20 to 40 mph. But when it spots prey, this bird will suddenly spring into action and dive down at speeds of more than 120 mph. It is considered the fifth fastest bird in the world.