Can you substitute baking powder for anything?

Cream of tartar is the acid that is typically in baking powder, so if you have any on hand, you can combine it with baking soda and you're all set. To replace 1 teaspoon baking powder, combine 1/4 teaspoon baking soda with 5/8 teaspoon cream of tartar.