How many ounces is a baseball?

A baseball should weigh between 5, and 5 and a quarter ounces, according to the Official rules of Major League Baseball. It is formed by yarn, wrapped around a small core of cork, rubber, or similar material, covered with two strips of white horsehide or cowhide, tightly stitched together.