Who created the cheeseburger?

Lionel Sternberger is reputed to have invented the cheeseburger in 1926 at the age of 16 when he was working as a fry cook at his father's Pasadena, California sandwich shop, The Rite Spot, and experimentally dropped a slab of American cheese on a sizzling hamburger.