What is les miserables bout?

Prisoner, Jean Valjean is freed after 19 years, by Javert, the officer in charge of the prison workforce. Valjean breaks parole, later stealing silver to reinvent himself as a mayor and factory owner. Javert vows to bring Valjean back to prison, and pursues him relentlessly.