What is the difference between a frittata and an omelet?

To make an omelet, the eggs are whisked just until blended before cooking; when making a frittata, the egg mixture is whisked vigorously to help create the custard-like consistency. Both sides of the frittata are cooked while just the underside of the omelet touches the pan.