What is corn a vegetable or a fruit?

Whole corn, corn on the cob, is considered a vegetable. The corn kernel itself is considered a grain. Many grains including popcorn are considered to be a fruit. So, corn is actually a vegetable, a whole grain, and a fruit. But no matter what form it comes in, corn can be part of a healthy diet.