Why is bleach so dangerous?

Bleach is very irritating and corrosive to the skin, lungs, and eyes. It has been known to burn human tissue internally or externally. Additionally, it may cause skin rash, extreme headaches, migraines, muscle weakness, abdominal discomfort, esophageal perforation, nausea and vomiting.