How do you chop diced onions?

How to dice an onion Cut the onion in half, slicing downwards through the root, then peel. Cut 5-6 vertical slices into each half, leaving the root intact. Lay the onion half flat, slicing horizontally and keeping the root intact. Slice downwards across these cuts to dice.