Why is it called an eskimo kiss?

When early explorers of the Arctic first witnessed Inuit nose rubbing as a greeting behavior, they dubbed it Eskimo kissing. This was used as an intimate greeting by the Inuit who, when they meet outside, often have little except their nose and eyes exposed.