Are raccoons and bears related?

Ultimately, all life on Earth is related, and bears and raccoons are both mammals. The bear family, ursidae, and the raccoon family, procyonidae, are both in the same order, carnivora. That makes them about as closely related as humans are with distant primates like lemurs and monkeys.