Why do they call jack nicholas the golden bear?

During the 1967 Australian Open, Australian sportswriter Don Lawrence wrote of Jack Nicklaus' playing style. In reference to Nicklaus' blonde hair and large, husky build, Lawrence famously quoted, " He looks like a big, cuddly, golden bear. "