What type of animal is a mole?

Moles are small mammals adapted to a subterranean lifestyle (i.e., fossorial). They have cylindrical bodies; velvety fur; very small, inconspicuous ears and eyes; reduced hindlimbs; and short, powerful forelimbs with large paws adapted for digging.