What is the longest golf ball ever hit?

Some shots in competitions surpass 400 yards . The world record recognized by Guinness World Records as the longest drive in a competition is 515 yards by 64-year-old Mike Austin in 1974 at the US Senior National Open Qualifier with a 43.5" steel shafted persimmon wood driver.