What's a baba yaga?

In Slavic folklore, Baba Yaga is a supernatural being (or 1 of 3 sisters) who appears as a deformed or ferocious-looking old woman. In Russian fairy tales, Baba Yaga flies around in a mortar, wields a pestle, and dwells deep in the forest in a hut usually described as standing on chicken legs.