How do they rate hurricanes?

Hurricanes are rated by wind speed according to the Saffir-Simpson wind scale. Category 1 is 74 to 95 mph, Category 2 is 96 to 110 mph, Category 3 is 111 to 129 mph, category 4 is 130 to 156 mph, and category 5 is 157 mph or higher.