What can break obsidian?

It can be collected only with a DIAMOND PICKAXE. Sadly it takes roughly 10 seconds to mine out. Any other pickaxe will simply break the block after about a minute of mining. Obsidian is created when a source Lava block comes in contact with a flowing Water block.