Was al capone in alcatraz?

Yes. Al Capone served a total of 4 ½ years at Alcatraz. He was suffering from long-term exposure to syphilis, which started to affect his brain, and was transferred to Terminal Island Prison in Southern California for the remainder of his sentence. Capone left Alcatraz on January 6, 1939.