How do you take care of a string of pearls plant?

This succulent plant is drought tolerant, surviving long periods without water. In fact, the plant's water-storing abilities, allow it to be watered thoroughly one week and then pretty much forgotten the next week or two. Watering too often can increase the chances of root rot.