What is the black stuff on onions?

The black stuff on onions is either mold or possibly dust or some other substance.

---

Black mold on onion is caused by aspergillus niger, a common fungus in soil. To discourage mold growth, store onions in the refrigerator up to two months. Rinse off small amounts of the black mold on the outer scales of the onion under cool, running tap water or cut off the affected layers.