How long does it take to cook caramel?

The whole things should take about 15 minutes. Sugar melts at about 320 degrees Fahrenheit and will turn to a clear liquid at that temperature. After sugar dissolves and syrup is simmering, cook for approximately 8 to 10 minutes, without stirring as sugar caramelizes.