Has america ever lost a war?

Yes. There are at least 9 wars the United States of America is considered to have lost, such as the War of 1812, and the Vietnam War.

---

Yes. The war of 1812, the Powder River Indian War, red cloud’s war, the Paiwan war, the second Samoan war, the Russian Civil War, the Korean War, the Bay of Pigs invasion, and the Vietnam war. Four of these were not decisive victories or losses, so could be considered a draw.