When do you fertilize roses?

Begin fertilizing when you have 4 to 6 inches of new growth, and can see the first real leaflet with 5 to 7 leaves. Stop fertilizing 8 weeks before you typically get a frost. The rule of thumb for granular fertilizer is every 2-3 weeks during the growing season.