What is the chemical in turkey that makes you sleepy?

Turkey contains tryptophan, an amino acid that's often linked with sleep. It encourages serotonin production in your brain, and this makes you feel relaxed and sleepy.

---

Turkey allegedly causes drowsiness because it is packed with a nutrient called L-tryptophan.