Do fish like the dark?

Fish need light to determine whether it is night or day. A period of darkness is necessary for the fish to sleep. Also, leaving the lights on all night could cause algae to rapidly grow and take over your aquarium. They don't exactly "like" darkness, but it tells them when to sleep.