Why is seven eleven called seven eleven?

The company's first outlets were named "Tote'm Stores" because customers "toted" away their purchases. In 1946, the chain's name was changed from "Tote'm" to "7-Eleven" to reflect the company's new, extended hours, 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, seven days per weekIn 1946, unprecedented at the time.