Where did the term happy camper come from?

This idiom has been used since the later 1800s, at least as early as 1885. We can only speculate as to its origin. It is thought to have derived from children's camps, alluding to the fact that while some children absolutely adore going to 'summer camp,' others are miserable and homesick.