What is the beholder in dungeons and dragons?

A beholder is an aberration-type monster known for its eye stalks, ray attacks, telepathy, and boundless cruelty. It generally does not get along with other creatures, including other beholders, and is known to enslave or gleefully destroy weaker beings it encounters.