Why is it called a bullseye?

The origin of the word bullseye is uncertain, it may simply be derived from its similarity to the shape of a bull's eye. Another origin story is that English longbow yeomen practiced their archery skills on bull skulls, aiming at the eye socket, or bull's eye.