What is potash used for?

About 95% of potash is used for fertilizer in agriculture with the remaining 5% used in commercial and industrial products such as soap. Where potassium is deficient in the soil, potash fertilizers can correct the problem and boost crop yields and quality.

---

Most commonly used for fertilizer, but is also used in snow melting, oil well drilling fluid, and water softening, among other things.