In minecraft what is a respawn anchor do?

Respawn anchors allow you to set a respawn point when you are in the Nether. To set a respawn point in the Overworld, you simply need to click on a bed. Doing so will set a respawn point in case you die in the future. Unfortunately, beds do not work in the Nether.