How do you measure the square footage of a house?

You measure each room, like say 10 feet by 12 feet. Then multiply 10 & 12 to get 120 square feet. Continue on each room, then add up all the square feet. Or you can measure the outside of the house and determine the square footage for one floor, then times that by the number of stories.