Who came up with the heliocentric theory?

Heliocentrism, the astronomical model in which the Earth and planets revolve around the Sun, was proposed by Aristarchus of Samos as early as the 3rd century BC. However, it was not until the 16th century that Nicolaus Copernicus presented a mathematical model of a heliocentric system.