Who was the only president to be awarded the purple heart?

President John F. Kennedy is the only U.S. president with a Purple Heart. Kennedy, who served in the Navy during World War II, injured his back when a Japanese destroyer collided with his patrol torpedo boat near the Solomon Islands.