What's the double bass?

A double bass is an upright bass stringed instrument similar in appearance to a cello. It's distinct from the acoustic bass used in jazz and early rock music, in that the double bass has the resonance and short decay time of its orchestral fellows, while the string bass holds a note like a guitar.