What stone is august?

August is the latest month to claim two birthstones; Peridot and Spinel. Peridot, with it's signature lime green color, is believed to instill power and influence in the wearer. Spinel is available in a brilliant range of colors and is believed to protect the owner from harm and soothe away sadness.