Why does water evaporate?

What can exist in three states at any one time. Frozen water, ice. Liquid water, and water vapor. Water is always evaporating because the air around the water is always absorbing moisture in the form of water vapor. Ice can evaporate without becoming a liquid. That is sublimation.