What does the word comedy mean c. o. m. i. t. y.?

Comity means civility or courteous behavior toward each other. Comity is also used to describe a relationship between countries-each country recognizes the laws and customs of the other as legitimate. Comity may mean an agreement between Christian churches not to proselytize each other’s members.