Are pistachios seeds or nuts?

The pistachio is neither a seed nor a nut. Technically, it is a “drupe,” a fleshy tree fruit that contains a shell-covered seed. With pistachios, we discard the fruit flesh for the tasty seed within. The opposite is true with other drupes such as stone fruits like peaches, cherries, and apricots.