What is the significance of the fall equinox?

Equinox comes from the Latin words “aequi,” which means equal, and “nox,” or night. On the equinox, day and night are of nearly equal length across the planet. For half the year, the North Pole is tilted slightly toward the sun, bringing longer days to the Northern Hemisphere.

---

The fall equinox is one of two days a year when the day and night are of equal length.