How many holes does a pepper shaker have?

A pepper shaker has two holes in the United States. Some say that tradition favors a salt shaker over a pepper shaker hole-wise, with many older sets featuring two pepper holes to four salt holes. Others make the ratio a little more balanced, with three holes for salt and two for pepper.