What is a fine fiber fabricator?

The answer to this puzzle clue is SILKWORM. Silkworms produce or fabricate their cocoons with fine silk threads. These threads are composed of sericin and fibroin proteins, which are produced in the silk gland and ejected through a spinneret at the larvae's head.