What happens when a dog gets spayed?

When a female dog is spayed, the vet removes her ovaries and usually her uterus as well. Spaying renders a female dog no longer able to reproduce and eliminates her heat cycle.

---

A more invasive procedure than neutering a male dog -- spaying requires that a female dog's ovaries and uterus are surgically removed, usually while the dog is under total sedation. The dog will no longer be able to reproduce nor will she experience heat cycles.