What is a stuffed cornmeal cake?

Stuffed cornmeal cakes are a traditional Latin American flatbread made from unleavened dough and filled with savory ingredients such as beans, cheese, or meat. Arepas from Colombia and Venezuela have thinner dough and are grilled. Pupusas from El Salvador use thicker dough and are sometimes fried.