What is it mean to braise meat?

Braising is simply a cooking method that involves browning meat in oil, then cooking it in a small amount of liquid in a tightly covered pan, either on the stovetop or in the oven. The long, slow cook time helps develop flavor and turn tougher meat cuts fork-tender.