How do you pit an olive?

Simply place your olives on a flat work surface and use a chef's knife or meat pounder to gently squish (or, if you're more confident, aggressively smash) the olive. You'll cleave the pit from the skin so that even if it's not immediately revealed, it will be very easy to nudge out.