Why is the empire state building famous?

The Empire State Building is a 102-story skyscraper in Manhattan, New York City built in 1931. Its name is derived from "Empire State", the nickname of the state of New York. Standing at 1,454 feet (443.2 m), it was the world's tallest building until the World Trade Center was constructed in 1970.